J.S.バッハ: ソプラノ独唱 カンタータ BWV 84 第1曲 "Ich bin vergnügt mit meinem Glücke"

指揮:Arjan van Baest
ソプラノ: キャロライン・スタム Caroline Stam
17 maart 2019 in de Broekhovense Kerk te Tilburg.

00:00 Intro
00:09 1. Aria Soprano. Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glücke, 「われはわが命運に満ち足れり」

Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glucke (I am content with my fortune), BWV 84, is a church cantata by Johann Sebastian Bach. He composed the solo cantata for soprano in Leipzig in 1727 for the Sunday Septuagesima, and led the first performance, probably on 9 February 1727.

Bach composed the work in his fourth year as Thomaskantor in Leipzig. The text is similar to a cantata text Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Stande (I am content with my position), which Picander published in 1728, but it is not certain that he wrote also the cantata text. Its thoughts about being content are in the spirit of the beginning Enlightenment, expressed in simple language. The closing chorale is the 12th stanza of the hymn "Wer weis, wie nahe mir mein Ende" by Amilie Juliane von Schwarzburg-Rudolstadt. Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glucke is one of the few works which Bach called "Cantata" himself.

Bach structured the work in five movements, alternating arias and recitatives, and a closing chorale. The scoring requires only a small ensemble of a soprano soloist, three additional vocal parts for the chorale, and a Baroque instrumental ensemble of oboe, strings and basso continuo. While the first aria is pensive and elegiac, the second aria is of dancing folk-like character.

1st Movement
The opening aria, "Ich bin vergnugt mit meinem Glucke, das mir der liebe Gott beschert." (I am content with my fortune which our dear God has allotted me.), is slow and pensive, accompanied by all instruments, reminiscent of the slow movement of an oboe concerto. John Eliot Gardiner, who conducted in 2000 the Bach Cantata Pilgrimage, noted in the project diary that Bach, who possibly was not content with his situation in Leipzig, composed music portraying "ambivalence and complexity". His music is "dynamic and fluctuating", capturing "wistful, resigned, elegiac" moods. The musicologist Julian Mincham notes that the aria compares to Ich bin in mir vergnugt, BWV 204 (I am content in myself) which he describes as "also a highly personal work for solo soprano with a similar theme, exploring comparable human emotions".


inserted by FC2 system